Reading Challenges

January 19, 2008

Neustadt Challenge May-Aug 2008

Filed under: 2008,Authors,Neustadt Challenge May-Aug 2008 — gautami tripathy @ 9:48 pm

Neustadt Challenge May-Aug 2008

The Neustadt International Prize for Literature is a biennial award for a body of work by poets, novelists, or playwrights. The prize is not limited by geographic area, language, or genre, and is hosted by the University of Oklahoma and the international literary publication World Literature Today.
You have two options with this challenge, which will run from May – August, 2008.
1. Read three books/plays/collection of poetry by one of the authors who have received the award.
2. Read three books by three different authors.

Here is the list of award winners.

2008 Patricia Grace (New Zealand) – to be awarded in Fall 2008)

2006 Claribel Alegría (Nicaragua/El Salvador)
2004 Adam Zagajewski (Poland)
2002 Alvaro Mutis (Colombia)
2000 David Malouf (Australia)
1998 Nuruddin Farah (Somalia)
1996 Assia Djebar (Algeria)
1994 Kamau Brathwaite (Barbados)
1992 João Cabral de Melo Neto (Brazil)
1990 Tomas Tranströmer (Sweden)
1988 Raja Rao (India)
1986 Max Frisch (Switzerland)
1984 Paavo Haavikko (Finland)
1982 Octavio Paz (Mexico) 
1980 Josef Škvorecky  (Czechoslovakia/Canada)
1978 Czeslaw Milosz (Poland)
1976 Elizabeth Bishop (USA)
1974 Francis Ponge (France)
1972 Gabriel García Márquez (Colombia) 

1970 Giuseppe Ungaretti (Italy)

Blog at